Australian Open Begins

Australian Open

The Australian Open is a major tennis tournament held annually in Melbourne, Australia. It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year – the other three being the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Australian open 2013 has kicked off as expected. Many top seeded players have made it to the next round. Andy Murray had an easy straight-set win over Robin Haase. Novak Djokovic, Maria Sharapova and Venus Williams won their matches and have proceeded to next round. Serena Williams defeated her opponent despite injuring her right ankle.World number one and defending champion Victoria Azarenka defeated Monica Niculescu in her opening match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *