Indian Premier League Kicks Off



Image Credit: Flickr User We Fit India, via CC

Season 6 of Indian Premier League, more commonly known as IPL, kicked off in in Kolkata yesterday with a dazzling opening ceremony. A shorter format of cricket, Twenty20, consisting only 20 overs is played in the league. It is currently contested by nine teams, consisting of players from around the cricketing world.

The nine teams – Kolkota Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Pune Warriors, Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians will play about 76 matches in all.

The first match of IPL6 will be played on Wednesday, April 3 between Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

All the best to all the participating teams. May the best team win!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *